Ma Nouvelle Maison

by theboneyqueenofnowhere

My very first impression of the house was homely. The walls are painted with nice, calming colours like white and orange that make the rooms look big. They had a big screen TV, a nice set of sofas and a fireplace in the lounge room. There were two dining tables, one for special occasions and one for everyday eating (in the kitchen, which was quite a modestly sized room). After checking out the rest of the first floor (Xaviers study, a toilet and the laundry) we went upstairs.

Nothing much seemed too important to me on the second floor. Though there were two bathrooms and a toilet. The rest were just bedrooms – but not mine? I couldn’t figure were I was going to be staying – unless I was going to share? But surely not, there weren’t enough beds in any of the rooms. So in the heat of my confundrum, as I thought we were heading back down stairs we turned into what I thought was a closet to reveal yet another staircase! THREE STORIES.

My bedroom was perfect, it was empty now but I could imagine what it might look like once I unpack and settle in. For five months at least, it would be mine. I had a basins, a closet, a full body mirror and a half body mirror, a double bed, a heater, a clothes hanger and an open window which revealed the fantastic weather of the day.

In total:
Bedrooms: 5
Toilets/bathrooms: 5
Kitchen: 1
Dining room: 1
Whatever rooms: 2
Storage rooms: 3 + a basement with many rooms

I love my Australian house back home, but this one was simply without comparison. I had never even seen such a huge house before. Then after I put my things in the bedroom, they showed me outside.

It was the most beautiful weather – little did I know I would never see the weather so good again in France. Sunny, still, calm, hot but not too hot. Perfect. They had a fireplace in the backyard for cooking and an outdoor dining table. The grass was green and there was quite a bit of plant life. And just as I thought I had seen the whole sha-bam, someone opened a gate to reveal another massive backyard, a platonque track, a pool and a second house. What?

The other house was in construction and they explained that they were going to move into it once it was finished. The backyard of the second house was much bigger, but not as nice. The pool had a contraption on to keep the heat in – a sort of glass box. Overall, I was amazed at just the existance of about 3/4 of the place, and excited for 4/4. It was so gorgeous, I fell in love straight away.