Les Nouvelles Copines

by theboneyqueenofnowhere

After English class, I decided I would compliment a girl on her wicked cool undercut. I think I said it wrong, but the message got through. Next thing you know, I was in the middle of a circle of French girls introducing themselves. These would be my first friends.

Maya Blaikie equivalent: The girl with the undercut was essentially a massive hipster. She joked around all the time, seemed to be quite a party girl but also had a very caring side – as I would later find out. Her name was Camille, pronounced: Kammie.

Indigo Strudwicke equivalent: At first, I didn’t think there was an Australian equivalent for Juliette,nor did I think there was an  . She’s very different  from Indy, but is just as patient and sweet. There is also some physical features that remind me of Indy: the body shape, the pointy teeth, the facial shape, the forehead. Juliette seemed to be the most interested in me, perhaps because she is so passionate for the English language (which she spoke better than anyone I had met so far, except the English teacher).

Beth Mason equivalent: I don’t know what it is about Valentine, but she reminds me so much of Beth Mason. Maybe it’s just the physical features, but I think it’s also alot to do with the vibes emanating from her. As hard as it is to describe, I feel almost like I’m in the presence of Beth when I’m with Valentine. Sure, they’re very different in many ways, but then again – are they?

Honor Lukhurst equivalent: She’s super nice and has brilliant blonde hair like Honors. She seemed very extraverted but not like she was the leader of the group (was there one?) Her name was Claire and I liked her straight away.

There were a few others of that day: Nowel, another Valentine, Lindsey and the Martini sisters: Lisa and Clara. I found that boys voices were too rough to understand with my limited French, so I didn’t talk to any that day.