Famille d’Accueil

by theboneyqueenofnowhere

I took a train with the others who were going to the same region (Carolina the Espagnol, Oscar from Nouvelle Zealand Rachel the Americainne, a girl from Russie and a Joponese girl) By this point, I was able to simply dismiss my worries and just float through the situation. Everyone was freaking out as the train gradually slowed down – and perhaps some unsettling emotions were stirred in my stomach, but I just let them go and went on to meet the family I would be living with for the next five months.

photo.php?v=147004065444209&set=vb.100004038493104&type=3&theater

There were three of the five there to meet me: Jacquelyn (mère d’accueil), Xavier (père d’accueil) and Claire (soeur d’accueil). It was bizarre how the-same Claire looked to the only photos I had seen of her – as I approached and she remaiend still it were as though I were only looking at a picture. Nothing much stands out for my first impressions of my host parents, everything was going so fast I barely had time to soak anything up.

When I got to them there were ‘bisous’ all round. That’s where you kiss either cheek. They spoke to me in simple French but I wasn’t able to respond with much. After a quick AFS meeting and photos, we got in our massive four wheeled drive and drove home. The atmosphere was slightly awkward and they tried to converse, but I simply couldn’t understand. Then all of a sudden, we were in Sin-Le-Noble pulling into the drive way of my new home.