À la plage!

by theboneyqueenofnowhere

I’m still not entirely sure where it was, it might have been Belgium, but my host family took me to a beach. Now let me get this straight, the only beaches I’ve ever seen have always been a magnificant blue, packed with surfers and leathery skin, golden sand smoldering under the sun. Well, this one was different.  The sand was quite literally grey, just like the sky, just like the water. It was almost a depressing sight. And the sea was completely flat and stretched out forever without changing a  bit. Within a moment, I had added one more thing to my “to do back home” list: Surf.

Afterwards, we ate lunch together at a beach side restaurant. I noticed that waiters here don’t usually wear a uniform or nice clothes – just casual wear. They also treat you pretty averagely (since then, I have seen this at many other cafés and restaurants). I didn’t mind, but it was certainly a change.

I ate lasagne – my host mum commented “Why would I want to eat something when I already ate it earlier that week?” Which seemed  like an absolutely ridiculous thing to say to me considering I’ve pretty much eaten pasta every day since I was born. The others ate oysters and gave me a few to try – I can’t say they were my cup of tea.
Afterwards we went to yet another café (definitely in Belgium this time) and passed the remainder of the day walking, shopping, seeing, drinking, smoking (for some) and then driving home. It was a very random pop over to la Belgique but I’m very glad to have gone.